Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 10
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 9646 times and has 9 replies Next Thread
Gforce85

Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
How to join the developer team?

Hello i'm a software engineering student and looking for an open source software project to join. Now my eye felled on sweethome 3d which I found on sourcforge.com, and i came to the conclusion that this is the type of project i would like to join because:
- it is written in java
- It uses 3d and 2d views
- The subject seems to be highly suitable for an easy to understand object oriented
Design.( walls, doors, windows, floors etc)
- I have studie building engineering before my current study and I would like to know how this kind of software is made.
- It seems to be a quality piece of software.

But now my questions are as followed:
- How can I contribute to the project?
- I can't open the eclipse project that is in the source code directory. Can i also use netbeans?
- Do you use UMl for the design?
- What kind of techniques do you use for the 3d view?
- Is there any prerequisite for joining the project?
- Is there a special developer website / envoirment.

I would love to hear some answers. Thnx in advance.
[Mar 24, 2012, 5:52:02 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert

France
Re: How to join the developer team?

Welcome to Sweet Home 3D development. smile

How can I contribute to the project?
If you're a Java developer, the best way to start contributing to the project is to create a plug-in, with the help of the plug-in developer's guide. Once ready, you can post it in the plug-ins tracker to share it with Sweet Home 3D users.
If you're looking for ideas of plug-ins, please explore this forum.