Download

Online

Gallery

Blog

  Index  | Recent Threads  | List Attachments  | Search
 Welcome Guest  |  Register  |  Login
Login Name  Password
 

Sweet Home 3D Forum



No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 11
Posts: 11   Pages: 2   [ 1 2 | Next Page ]
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 3351 times and has 10 replies Next Thread
kvepete
Newbie




Joined: Oct 30, 2018
Post Count: 2
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Problem with "Hole" Visibility while Import

Hello Dear Forum,
im stil using sh3d for a while.
Now i have a problem with the "hole"-visibility from objects.
Using sh3d 5.7, today update to 6.0 - same problem.

1) 1st Hole - with Rounded Door from BuildIn Library
2) 2nd Hole - with WallOpeningInvisible
3) Red Arc - Rounded Door from Build-in-lib export to *.obj
then reimport with door/window

At that moment the object is included in the wall, the hole is going lost? Same when i include it in the "Invisible Wall".
This is happening with every Objects i import.

See the screenshot here:



I spent a couple of hours to find a solution, but i didn't find
helpful informations.

Any ideas what i'm doing wrong, or what's wrong?
Thank you for help.
Peter
----------------------------------------
[Edit 1 times, last edit by Puybaret at Oct 30, 2018, 1:53:38 PM]
[Oct 30, 2018, 1:14:09 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert
Member's Avatar

France
Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Post Count: 7597
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Problem with "Hole" Visibility while Import

Why exporting / reimporting models found in the default catalog? You'll lose their cutout.
You should just use the models in the furniture catalog.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer
[Oct 30, 2018, 1:55:56 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
kvepete
Newbie




Joined: Oct 30, 2018
Post Count: 2
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Problem with "Hole" Visibility while Import

thank you for the reply,

Export/Reimport was for example - when i construct a "special hole" with different objects, export it for use in the library.

But the same problem is when i download this object:
http://www.sweethome3d.com/models/roundDoorFrame.zip
When i import it (door/window option checked) there is no cutout in the wall?
Same with the "arc.zip" i've downloaded from this thread.
http://www.sweethome3d.com/support/forum/viewthread_thread,3747#17527
See my screenshot
Thank you.
Kind Regards Pete
[Oct 30, 2018, 2:16:58 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
alaX
Member



Poland
Joined: May 24, 2016
Post Count: 73
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Problem with "Hole" Visibility while Import

Guide for SVG Path cut-outs and other furniture properties (PDF) by OKH
[Oct 30, 2018, 6:47:14 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
dorin
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Romania
Joined: Apr 24, 2014
Post Count: 272
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Problem with "Hole" Visibility while Import

For a few versions ago is more simple.
e.g.
The straight way

----------------------------------------
A computer program does what you tell it to do, not what you want it to do. Murphy's Law (Greer's Third Law)
When all else fails, read the instructions.Murphy's Law
[Oct 31, 2018, 7:26:03 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
dorin
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Romania
Joined: Apr 24, 2014
Post Count: 272
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Problem with "Hole" Visibility while Import

Update

----------------------------------------
A computer program does what you tell it to do, not what you want it to do. Murphy's Law (Greer's Third Law)
When all else fails, read the instructions.Murphy's Law
[Oct 31, 2018, 7:59:14 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
UbuntuBirdy
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Switzerland
Joined: Aug 31, 2017
Post Count: 383
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Problem with "Hole" Visibility while Import

@dorin - WTF! How did you create this SVG-path? I always spend hours for creating a simple cutout for my boats and it would take my hole life to create a cutout like this one in your picture!
----------------------------------------
Pascal

SH3D 6.4.2 / Ubuntu 20.04 (Mainline-Kernel) / Radeon RX580 / Ryzen 7 1800x
[Oct 31, 2018, 10:49:41 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
dorin
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Romania
Joined: Apr 24, 2014
Post Count: 272
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Problem with "Hole" Visibility while Import

Well, when You have a hammer over head You make a hole instantly.

Now the steeps:
1. Peeve Your wife.
2. Export the mannequin as object; import as door
3. Insert it in a straight single (not splinted) wall. Will make the cut over contour.
4. Modify furniture -> Modify texture -> select all -> Invisible ->OK
NOTE: It don't work on angled or curved walls even for simple forms.
----------------------------------------
A computer program does what you tell it to do, not what you want it to do. Murphy's Law (Greer's Third Law)
When all else fails, read the instructions.Murphy's Law
[Oct 31, 2018, 11:46:19 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
UbuntuBirdy
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Switzerland
Joined: Aug 31, 2017
Post Count: 383
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Problem with "Hole" Visibility while Import

hmm... I haven't thought it's as simple as this. It seems I'm often thinking to far... But I'm not sure if I can adapt this solution to my problem...
----------------------------------------
Pascal

SH3D 6.4.2 / Ubuntu 20.04 (Mainline-Kernel) / Radeon RX580 / Ryzen 7 1800x
[Oct 31, 2018, 12:03:35 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
alaX
Member



Poland
Joined: May 24, 2016
Post Count: 73
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Problem with "Hole" Visibility while Import

Kvepete - if you want only cut-outs, without frame etc, make single face (any shape without holes).
Example:

[Oct 31, 2018, 1:01:44 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Posts: 11   Pages: 2   [ 1 2 | Next Page ]
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Show Printable Version of Thread  Post new Thread

    Get Sweet Home 3D at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads
   
© Copyright 2006-2021 eTeks - All rights reserved