Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 10
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 412 times and has 9 replies Next Thread
architectech

Sweden
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
using "Generate roof" plugin without rooms

Hi: As an architect, I made multi-storey buildings in SH3D with walls, pillars, slabs and staircases, that is of bearing structures. The roofs were boxes, I could do even wavy ones.
Now I have a commission for a building with high roof with tiles. As Keet pointed out to me, you need the SH3D "room" object even for just starting the "Generate roof" plugin.
As my buildings have no room objects, I cannot use that plugin.
Please, tell me how to use it without rooms, or how to turn walls into rooms. Or there is some other roof plugin? I searched in and outside SH3D but could not find a solution.
Thanks in advance!
[Jan 22, 2024, 7:32:17 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Keet
Advanced Member

Netherlands
Re: using "Generate roof" plugin without rooms

I'm not sure what you have against rooms but you can draw a room, generate a roof from it and then delete the room. The generated roof can be changed by selecting the roof and starting the roof generator again. It will read the selected roof and you no longer need the room.

The roofs were boxes, I could do even wavy ones.
The roof generator can't create wavy roofs. That's the one limit in Sweet Home 3D: creating curved or bend forms other than a curved wall is very difficult or impossible.