Download

Online

Gallery

Blog

  Index  | Recent Threads  | List Attachments  | Search
 Welcome Guest  |  Register  |  Login
Login Name  Password
 

Sweet Home 3D Forum



No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 28
Posts: 28   Pages: 3   [ 1 2 3 | Next Page ]
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 5121 times and has 27 replies Next Thread
AlexQ
Newbie
Member's Avatar


Joined: Aug 5, 2021
Post Count: 19
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Texture turned out different from Texture applied to cabinet.

Hi,

Here are the images of wood5 pasted onto cabinet model.

https://www.mediafire.com/view/wzug27zjxjn54q0/cabinet.jpg/file

https://www.mediafire.com/view/dqh9uu06k10tbug/wood5.jpg/file

Not sure what I did wrong. Thank you
----------------------------------------
[Edit 1 times, last edit by Puybaret at Aug 6, 2021, 4:47:23 PM]
[Aug 6, 2021, 4:18:04 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
hansmex
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Netherlands
Joined: Sep 26, 2009
Post Count: 3680
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Texture turned out different from Texture applied to cabinet.

Hard to say without access to the original file or model...

H
----------------------------------------
Dual boot - AMD FX6300 6-core, 16GB ram
Windows 10 Pro, SH3D 6.2 with 8 GB memory allowance
Ubuntu 18.04, SH3D 6.2 with 2 GB memory allowance
[Aug 6, 2021, 11:06:45 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
AlexQ
Newbie
Member's Avatar


Joined: Aug 5, 2021
Post Count: 19
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Texture turned out different from Texture applied to cabinet.

Hi hansmex.

Thank you for your reply. Also many thanks to whoever help me to upload the 2 images. Though I had followed the instructions you shared and copy link from Mediafire website, I couldn't see my images when I did the preview.

Now back to your comment concerning the actual texture and my model. May I know what sort of info you need for the texture? It's not created by me though as I'm a newbie. But I will provide you the information required so I can resolve this issue. Thank you very much for your patience and guidance.

Regards
Alex Quek
[Aug 7, 2021, 8:50:32 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
AlexQ
Newbie
Member's Avatar


Joined: Aug 5, 2021
Post Count: 19
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Texture turned out different from Texture applied to cabinet.

Hi hansmex.

The wood texture is from Medialoot.
The link is:https://medialoot.com/item/free-seamless-wood-textures/

I kept to the pixels sizes as prepared by Medialoot when I applied it to the cabinet. Not sure if this affects. Thank you
[Aug 7, 2021, 9:28:28 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
hansmex
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Netherlands
Joined: Sep 26, 2009
Post Count: 3680
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Texture turned out different from Texture applied to cabinet.

When I apply #5 to a cabinet from the standard models, the texture renders OK.
That means the problem is not the texture, nor SH3D.

Can you provide a link to the model on which you apply the texture?

H
----------------------------------------
Dual boot - AMD FX6300 6-core, 16GB ram
Windows 10 Pro, SH3D 6.2 with 8 GB memory allowance
Ubuntu 18.04, SH3D 6.2 with 2 GB memory allowance
[Aug 7, 2021, 11:06:34 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
AlexQ
Newbie
Member's Avatar


Joined: Aug 5, 2021
Post Count: 19
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Texture turned out different from Texture applied to cabinet.

Hi Hansmex,

Thank you for your prompt assistance. The link is as below:
https://www.mediafire.com/file/55wlh24bi72xus0/kitchen_model.sh3d/file

Have a nice weekend!

Regards,
Alex Quek
[Aug 7, 2021, 1:19:37 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
hansmex
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Netherlands
Joined: Sep 26, 2009
Post Count: 3680
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Texture turned out different from Texture applied to cabinet.

Your file - v2

I inserted the original models, applied texture #5 in original image format (as a 75x75 cm texture).
Texture applied to individual parts, not to entire model.
Rendered with Sunflow renderer, quality level 4, one additional light inserted.

Result:
https://www.mediafire.com/view/wzcp0msdab4esl4/kitchen_v2.JPG/file
----------------------------------------
Dual boot - AMD FX6300 6-core, 16GB ram
Windows 10 Pro, SH3D 6.2 with 8 GB memory allowance
Ubuntu 18.04, SH3D 6.2 with 2 GB memory allowance
[Aug 7, 2021, 2:13:57 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
AlexQ
Newbie
Member's Avatar


Joined: Aug 5, 2021
Post Count: 19
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Texture turned out different from Texture applied to cabinet.

Hi Hansmex

Wow! It looks wonderful now as it is much more realistic.

I will need some time to be able to follow how to make those changes and appreciate what you have done. Thank you.

Have a nice week ahead!

Regards,

Alex Quek
[Aug 8, 2021, 1:30:47 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
AlexQ
Newbie
Member's Avatar


Joined: Aug 5, 2021
Post Count: 19
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Texture turned out different from Texture applied to cabinet.

Hi Hansmex,

To apply texture to cabinet, I have only used the built-in feature of 'texture' and 'color'. And it was not successful, as I had not reduced the size of the wood5 texture to 75 cm x 75cm to match the physical width of the cabinet of 800 mm. This you pointed out in your earlier reply.

But I noted you have used "Furniture Materials"-'Model materials' instead to do the texture/color changed for the cabinet.

https://www.mediafire.com/view/ylw2c472di3nyk0/modify_material.jpg/file

In the 'Model materials' there are 4 colors viz. flltgrey, grey,ltgrey and white. And Shininess set to 'matt'

My guess is you took the 'cabinet model' and do something to it which I'm not sure how it is done. I search but couldn't find relevant information required for me to follow.

Can you kindly explain how to do this as I have a really steep learning curve to climb?

or if there is a detailed step by step tutorial with images on how to do this, can lead me there, please ?

May I know if "SunFlow rendering engine" is downloadable from SH3D site? I don't think I have this feature in my model. Is it absolutely necessary to get to the "right color & texture"?
I try to keep things simple for now.

Thank you. Have a nice day!

Alex Quek
[Aug 9, 2021, 3:37:29 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
hansmex
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Netherlands
Joined: Sep 26, 2009
Post Count: 3680
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Texture turned out different from Texture applied to cabinet.

I used Modify furniture -> Materials -> Modify
Then I changed one of the parts by clicking it and applying a texture.

The Sunflow rendering engine is the standard rendering engine. You can download a plugin that uses a different rendering engine (Yafaray).

H
----------------------------------------
Dual boot - AMD FX6300 6-core, 16GB ram
Windows 10 Pro, SH3D 6.2 with 8 GB memory allowance
Ubuntu 18.04, SH3D 6.2 with 2 GB memory allowance
[Aug 9, 2021, 7:25:57 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Posts: 28   Pages: 3   [ 1 2 3 | Next Page ]
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Show Printable Version of Thread  Post new Thread

    Get Sweet Home 3D at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads
   
© Copyright 2006-2021 eTeks - All rights reserved