Index  | Recent Threads  | List Attachments  | Search
 Welcome Guest  |  Register  |  Login
Login Name  Password
 

Sweet Home 3D Forum



No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 112
Posts: 112   Pages: 12   [ Previous Page | 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next Page ]
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 119979 times and has 111 replies Next Thread
sjb007
Advanced Member




Joined: May 18, 2021
Post Count: 255
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Pan tool in 3D and 2D view?

1.7 version of the plugin, and the latest SH3D of 6.6a. Java 1.8.0_202 - 32bit. Java 3D 1.5.2 - NATIVE_OGL.

I also just tested (it just occurred to me) to remove all other plugins. I can still trigger it.

Video: https://youtu.be/y1E6tPabecQ

Note I used the right-click menu to switch to the virtual visit when you see the blue sky appear, but OBS didn't capture the menu.
[Jan 18, 2022, 1:59:45 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Daniels118
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Italy
Joined: Nov 17, 2021
Post Count: 465
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Pan tool in 3D and 2D view?

Funny video title smile
I really don't understand what is going on thinking You could try to install this plugin that automatically redirects the console output to a file. Do not remove the underscore from the filename, as this will ensure the plugin is loaded before the others (they are loaded in alphabetical order).
The output will be stored within the application folder (the one that contains the plugins folder). Hope this will produce an helpful log.
[Jan 18, 2022, 7:37:03 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
sjb007
Advanced Member




Joined: May 18, 2021
Post Count: 255
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Pan tool in 3D and 2D view?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Mbm6_EiulL8G...RDS61QX0/view?usp=sharing

Well, that looks like a fine pickle.
[Jan 19, 2022, 1:53:21 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
sjb007
Advanced Member




Joined: May 18, 2021
Post Count: 255
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Pan tool in 3D and 2D view?

Huh. I looked at the code, and deactivating the SH3D preference of "Aerial view centered on selection" stops the issue occurring. Turning it back on, I can quickly cause the issue again. I'm a bit puzzled why aerial view code is being called when I'm in virtual visitor mode. It is a band aid though. Turning the setting off simply skips the threading code in View3DEnhancerImpl.java:363-370 that causes the issue. Maybe too many threads are being launched and are not cleaned up?
[Jan 19, 2022, 2:09:41 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Daniels118
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Italy
Joined: Nov 17, 2021
Post Count: 465
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Pan tool in 3D and 2D view?

Yippee! This explains everything. It's likely you have a very fast PC, probabily with an UHD screen or the cursor speed set very high. This cause mouseDragged events at high frequency, leading to 2 problems with the code you seen in View3DEnhancerImpl.java:363-370:
- concurrency with the delayed code execution (the first IllegalAccessException);
- generation of too many concurrent threads (OutOfMemoryError).

You're right about the fact this branch of code is useless when the camera is in visitor mode, however this problem could potentially occurr even in aerial view mode.
So, beside excluding the code execution in visitor mode, I'll try to implement that function in a different way which won't involve starting new threads.

Please let me thank you for your valuable help in disclosing bugs and help me solve them praying
[Jan 19, 2022, 1:28:26 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
sjb007
Advanced Member




Joined: May 18, 2021
Post Count: 255
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Pan tool in 3D and 2D view?

It's a Dell XPS 15 with an i7-7700HQ @ 2.8Ghz with 4C/8T, and it has an UHD screen, but I use it with two dedicated non-UHD monitors. I wouldn't know if that still compares as "very fast", or if the mouse events are particularly high frequency, but in settings the cursor speed is maxed.

I don't think I've ever had weird behaviour in the Aerial view.

I'm delighted to be of help.
[Jan 19, 2022, 4:15:31 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Daniels118
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Italy
Joined: Nov 17, 2021
Post Count: 465
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Pan tool in 3D and 2D view?

I wouldn't know if that still compares as "very fast"
Well, it is surely much faster than my 5 years old i5 :)

I have done the following changes to fix the bug:
  • The failing code has been conditioned to be executed only when in aerial view mode;
  • The critical code has been synchronized;
  • The delayed code has been serialized to avoid thread saturation.
You can download it from here: Pan3dView-1.8.sh3p

Please let me know if this fixes the problem, so I'll publish it on the contributions page.

Daniele
[Jan 20, 2022, 2:33:58 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
sjb007
Advanced Member




Joined: May 18, 2021
Post Count: 255
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Pan tool in 3D and 2D view?

FIXED! You da man! cool
[Jan 20, 2022, 5:41:10 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
sjb007
Advanced Member




Joined: May 18, 2021
Post Count: 255
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Pan tool in 3D and 2D view?

Another day, another report smile

So I can trigger this in two ways, but sometimes the middle click pan just stops working.
1) The reliable way is to open SH3D, place a cube and test. Pan works. Then display the 3D view in a separate window. Pan no longer works.
2) The unreliable way is to just use SH3D for a while. Even without separating the window, something occasionally causes the pan feature to stop working.

I check the redirected log, and there are no exceptions or errors in the few lines in there.
[Jan 23, 2022, 4:01:25 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
sjb007
Advanced Member




Joined: May 18, 2021
Post Count: 255
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Pan tool in 3D and 2D view?

I should clarify, the application returns to zooming on middle-click drag. It is like in certain situations the application re-asserts the normal mouse handling from before your plugin inserted itself.
[Jan 23, 2022, 4:04:19 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Posts: 112   Pages: 12   [ Previous Page | 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next Page ]
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Show Printable Version of Thread  Post new Thread

  Get Sweet Home 3D at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads  
© Copyright 2024 Space Mushrooms - All rights reserved