Italy
Joined: Nov 17, 2021
Post Count: 465
Status:
Offline
Re: Pan tool in 3D and 2D view?
Funny video title I really don't understand what is going on You could try to install this plugin that automatically redirects the console output to a file. Do not remove the underscore from the filename, as this will ensure the plugin is loaded before the others (they are loaded in alphabetical order). The output will be stored within the application folder (the one that contains the plugins folder). Hope this will produce an helpful log.
Joined: May 18, 2021
Post Count: 255
Status:
Offline
Re: Pan tool in 3D and 2D view?
Huh. I looked at the code, and deactivating the SH3D preference of "Aerial view centered on selection" stops the issue occurring. Turning it back on, I can quickly cause the issue again. I'm a bit puzzled why aerial view code is being called when I'm in virtual visitor mode. It is a band aid though. Turning the setting off simply skips the threading code in View3DEnhancerImpl.java:363-370 that causes the issue. Maybe too many threads are being launched and are not cleaned up?
Italy
Joined: Nov 17, 2021
Post Count: 465
Status:
Offline
Re: Pan tool in 3D and 2D view?
Yippee! This explains everything. It's likely you have a very fast PC, probabily with an UHD screen or the cursor speed set very high. This cause mouseDragged events at high frequency, leading to 2 problems with the code you seen in View3DEnhancerImpl.java:363-370: - concurrency with the delayed code execution (the first IllegalAccessException); - generation of too many concurrent threads (OutOfMemoryError).
You're right about the fact this branch of code is useless when the camera is in visitor mode, however this problem could potentially occurr even in aerial view mode. So, beside excluding the code execution in visitor mode, I'll try to implement that function in a different way which won't involve starting new threads.
Please let me thank you for your valuable help in disclosing bugs and help me solve them
Joined: May 18, 2021
Post Count: 255
Status:
Offline
Re: Pan tool in 3D and 2D view?
It's a Dell XPS 15 with an i7-7700HQ @ 2.8Ghz with 4C/8T, and it has an UHD screen, but I use it with two dedicated non-UHD monitors. I wouldn't know if that still compares as "very fast", or if the mouse events are particularly high frequency, but in settings the cursor speed is maxed.
I don't think I've ever had weird behaviour in the Aerial view.
Joined: May 18, 2021
Post Count: 255
Status:
Offline
Re: Pan tool in 3D and 2D view?
Another day, another report
So I can trigger this in two ways, but sometimes the middle click pan just stops working. 1) The reliable way is to open SH3D, place a cube and test. Pan works. Then display the 3D view in a separate window. Pan no longer works. 2) The unreliable way is to just use SH3D for a while. Even without separating the window, something occasionally causes the pan feature to stop working.
I check the redirected log, and there are no exceptions or errors in the few lines in there.
Joined: May 18, 2021
Post Count: 255
Status:
Offline
Re: Pan tool in 3D and 2D view?
I should clarify, the application returns to zooming on middle-click drag. It is like in certain situations the application re-asserts the normal mouse handling from before your plugin inserted itself.