Features

Download

Online

Gallery

Blog

  Index  | Recent Threads  | List Attachments  | Help  | Search
 Welcome Guest  |  Register  |  Login
Login Name  Password
 

Sweet Home 3D Forum



No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 3
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 1416 times and has 2 replies Next Thread
starrunner
Member




Joined: Sep 15, 2010
Post Count: 40
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Access console output

Yesterday another user had problems loading my plugin:
https://sourceforge.net/p/sweethome3d/plug-ins/4/?page=1

I wanted to ask, is it possible for a normal user to see the console output of Sweet Home 3D?

I know that I can call Sweet Home 3D with the console executable of Java:
"...path to my JRE..\bin\java.exe" ... com.eteks.sweethome3d.SweetHome3D

But there are two problems: the included JRE does not contain the "java.exe" and the additional arguments depend on the SH3D version and current environment.

So it would be nice, if we had a command line switch, something like:
SweetHome3D.exe -log MyLogFile.log

Or the user could open the console output from inside of Sweet Home 3D.

As I always offer both for my standalone programs, I could provide a patch for that.

But I wanted to ask first for any objections.
[Jan 4, 2020, 2:55:42 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert
Member's Avatar

France
Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Post Count: 6863
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Access console output

No need of a command line switch, simply use 2>pathToLog.txt command line Windows option to redirect console output to the desired file:
"C:\Program Files\Sweet Home 3D\SweetHome3D.exe" 2>MyLogFile.log

----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer
[Jan 5, 2020, 11:15:46 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
starrunner
Member




Joined: Sep 15, 2010
Post Count: 40
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Access console output

Good to know, I didn't notice that output redirection even works for javaw.exe.

But 2> only redirects the error ouput, to redirect the whole output it has to be
"C:\Program Files\Sweet Home 3D\SweetHome3D.exe" > MyLogFile.log 2>&1


Anyway, this will help me finding the problems of the error reports.
[Jan 5, 2020, 7:36:59 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Show Printable Version of Thread  Post new Thread

    Get Sweet Home 3D at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads
   
© Copyright 2006-2020 eTeks - All rights reserved