Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 12
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 6814 times and has 11 replies Next Thread
Bubblobill

Australia
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Building a bespoke staircase constructor plugin - need help

So I have decided to try my hand at making a plugin. Unfortunately I have never programmed in Java before and it is doing my head in. I have made a fair bit of headway, the code can be found on Project on Github.

I'm fairly sure I have chosen a difficult project to cut my teeth on, what I need now is assistance and advice.

• Have I approached this correctly?
  • Should I pack my bags and go home?
  • What should I do from here?

Anyone that wants to help out with the rest of the code is welcome to contribute.

Regards,

Jay
[Jun 28, 2019, 2:37:05 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
dorin
Advanced Member

Romania
Re: Building a bespoke staircase constructor plugin - need help

For shore is a difficult project (at least for starting in any programming language).
Have I approached this correctly?

Depend of Your mind structure.
From my side (inspired by Asimov):
I know the final. For this I start with the end; what I want to happen in the end.
Than I think what I need for this, who provide'it (usually the end user).
I consider the user to be a most common person(over 65 old) who could use my soft; I keep this in mind and I try to make'it accordingly(specially the UI).
So, You have to reconsider the approach.
Should I pack my bags and go home?

NO WAY BACK!!! Get Up and fight!
Anyone that wants to help out with the rest of the code is welcome to contribute.

Well not too much for the start:
1. I modify a little Your project. Could be find HERE