Features

Download

Online

Gallery

Blog

  Index  | Recent Threads  | List Attachments  | Help  | Search
 Welcome Guest  |  Register  |  Login
Login Name  Password
 

Sweet Home 3D Forum



No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 4
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 10459 times and has 3 replies Next Thread
pencilart
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar


Joined: Oct 2, 2007
Post Count: 186
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
More questions

1) How do I add a 2nd floor?

2) I want a wrap around porch with a staircase going up to it (the house is elevated) how do I make the staircase so that it starts from the ground going up? Can I replace the low walls with railing?

See snapshot of what I've done so far:
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h186/gymnart/snapshot-PradiseHome.jpg

I'm starting to have a lot of fun with this. Thanks for making it!




[Note: this thread was started on sourceforge.net forums]
[Oct 2, 2007 10:38:00 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert
Member's Avatar

France
Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Post Count: 5837
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: More questions

Sweet Home 3d doesn't support multiple floors at this time.
The only trick you can do is to add a box to simulate a floor and change the elevation of all the furniture you want to put on the second floor.

The elevation is always positive so you can't make a staircase so that it starts from the ground going up.
If you find an importable railing you may use it instead of low walls.


----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer
[Oct 3, 2007 1:11:00 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest    http://www.eteks.com [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
tspencer2000
Newbie




Joined: Nov 22, 2009
Post Count: 1
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: More questions

Hi! While you're developing a "second story" feature, could you perhaps make it so that objects can be A) more than 1,000 inches (just over 90 feet) tall, and B) make it so that the elevations (the start AKA "floor") can also be run higher? I'm working on a radio station design, and there's no simple way to model the tall tower. Best I could do was a cylinder, 18" dia and 1,000 in tall... Somewhat less than optimal. I'm also having fun trying to make or find models of all the equipment, but that's another topic. praying
[Nov 22, 2009 3:24:11 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
hansmex
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Netherlands
Joined: Sep 26, 2009
Post Count: 3064
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: More questions

Spencer,

There's a workaround for the missing height.

Build a first level of max 999 high.
Than build a second level also of 999 high and copy it on-top of the first part. That way you can at least go to a height of 1999.

I never tried it with greater heights.

Like you, some time ago I also requested an adaptation in the program to allow greater heights and elevations.

Succes,

Hans
[Dec 21, 2009 4:02:40 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Show Printable Version of Thread  Post new Thread

    Get Sweet Home 3D at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads
   
© Copyright 2006-2017 eTeks - All rights reserved