Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 11
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 4597 times and has 10 replies Next Thread
ottertooth

Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Basement is not at set negative level

It says in the Guide, on the 'How to design a split-level house' page, "The elevation of a level may also be negative to design a basement or foundations."

I have set the level of the basement at -255. But it's not working. I've included a picture.

After creating a new level, 'Basement', and setting its elevation at -255, I started drawing the walls. I set the walls at 243. I drew 4 walls. Then I looked at the 3D model and saw that the elevation wasn't having any effect.

The 4 basement walls I drew are in front of those stairs in the picture. They appear to be 12cm high.

So to summarize, the basement is at the same level as the main floor, despite basement elevation being set at -255 and the Main Floor elevation being set at 15. What am I doing wrong?
[Feb 21, 2019, 8:22:09 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Mike53
Advanced Member

UK
Re: Basement is not at set negative level

Hi ottertooth
Make sure your wall height actually reach's the ground level, try elevevating the basement level and include a floor in the basement.
Check the instructions for showing images, it helps to see the issue.
Mike
[Feb 21, 2019, 8:53:54 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
ottertooth