Features

Download

Online

Gallery

Blog

  Index  | Recent Threads  | List Attachments  | Help  | Search
 Welcome Guest  |  Register  |  Login
Login Name  Password
 

Sweet Home 3D Forum



No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 8
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 675 times and has 7 replies Next Thread
delaing
Newbie



USA
Joined: Nov 12, 2018
Post Count: 15
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Need ability to input offset value in Foot/Inch/Fraction data fields

I just found out with the help of @okh that it is not possible to input a value, say +5' (five feet), as an offset value in the X-Y coordinate fields of the Modify Wall dialog if application preference is set to Foot/Inch/Fraction.

You can see the discussion here:
Draw (offset) Wall from Existing Wall?

Why would this be available for Metric and Inch/Decimal but non-functional in Foot/Inch/Fraction?

Thanks in advance,
Delain
[Nov 24, 2018 6:40:40 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert
Member's Avatar

France
Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Post Count: 6554
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Need ability to input offset value in Foot/Inch/Fraction data fields

Why would this be available for Metric and Inch/Decimal but non-functional in Foot/Inch/Fraction?
Because the metric system doesn’t need ' and " characters. If you use Inch/Decimals unit, you’ll be able to enter mathematical expressions too.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer
[Nov 24, 2018 11:59:55 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest    http://www.eteks.com [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
okh
Advanced Member




Joined: May 12, 2013
Post Count: 1546
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Need ability to input offset value in Foot/Inch/Fraction data fields

If so, I would use (7*12)+11 to insert 7 feet 11 inches (with inch/decimala in preferences). However, that does not give me 95 as expected. Am I missing something...? ok
[Nov 25, 2018 2:06:15 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Mike53
Advanced Member



UK
Joined: Jan 6, 2018
Post Count: 205
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Need ability to input offset value in Foot/Inch/Fraction data fields

hi OK
If you input this formula (7*12)+11 into the "modify wall" dialogue box, then the wall moves, for some reason, 18'8 3/8", 224.37". Whereas if you enter the formula into the "move selected item" dialogue box it does then move 95"
[Nov 25, 2018 7:27:35 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Mike53
Advanced Member



UK
Joined: Jan 6, 2018
Post Count: 205
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Need ability to input offset value in Foot/Inch/Fraction data fields

Have to ask, would it not be simpler, and it seems to work, using x as its original position inputting x+95
Mike
[Nov 25, 2018 7:40:06 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert
Member's Avatar

France
Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Post Count: 6554
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Need ability to input offset value in Foot/Inch/Fraction data fields

224.36 = (7 x 12 x 2.54) + 11
and 2.54 cm = 1 inch
There must be a conversion bug in the parsing algorithm and this happens as soon as the unit is not the centimeter! sad
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer
[Nov 25, 2018 8:07:37 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest    http://www.eteks.com [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
okh
Advanced Member




Joined: May 12, 2013
Post Count: 1546
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Need ability to input offset value in Foot/Inch/Fraction data fields

..would it not be simpler, and it seems to work, using x as its original position inputting x+95...
Absolutely. My experiment was just to test the math-formula and show how to enter feet/inches with a cheat. Come to think of it, the easiest would be if everyone used metric smile
..conversion bug in the parsing algorithm and this happens as soon as the unit is not the centimeter...
Oh well, I guess the math function may have to wait one release in the non-metric world. ok
[Nov 25, 2018 8:53:13 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert
Member's Avatar

France
Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Post Count: 6554
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Need ability to input offset value in Foot/Inch/Fraction data fields

The bug was fixed in version 6.1. Thanks for your patience.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer
[Jan 24, 2019 3:21:07 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest    http://www.eteks.com [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Show Printable Version of Thread  Post new Thread

    Get Sweet Home 3D at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads
   
© Copyright 2006-2019 eTeks - All rights reserved