Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 35
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 61776 times and has 34 replies Next Thread
youseeus

Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
love struck Thoughts about roof-plugin

Hi, I'm working with sh3d since more than 5 years. love struck
But I'm still unhappy with the way roofs are created. devilish

I'm a developer so I'm thinking about, how to improve it. But I don't know if I'll have the time to get it done all myself*) tongue.

• roofs align with the shape of the outer walls
  • roofs have gabels and eaves (mostly aligned with the outer walls)
  • there are different shapes in between: roof documentation for OSM
So how to Build a roof:
atm: place several models to come as close to the original as possible.
My idea:

• create a new level
  • Place the gabel (vertices and edges)
  • add properties like roof overhang, pitch and other (vertices and edges can have different properties each)
  • place pitched windows (models)
  • let the program calculate the roof
  • the program will

• create a model for rendering
    • align the inner walls so no wall is sticking through the roof
what do you think about the idea? Have i forgotten a big blocker? confused

*)We are building a house rn, there isn't so much time left for programming
[May 12, 2018, 5:52:40 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
hansmex
Advanced Member

Netherlands
Re: Thoughts about roof-plugin

Your description of an algorithm is just the start. The truth is quite a bit more complex. The OSM list describes many roof types, but hardly covers everything.

Take a look here : this kind of house with dormers, and many different roof sections is quite common in the US.