Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 3
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 6158 times and has 2 replies Next Thread
TheCrazedMadman

Canada
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Realistic Field of View settings for a 3D Walkthrough

I'm new to SH3D (absolutely loving it!), and I want to find a good, realistic setting for if you were walking through the space. I know the default is 63 (which is the FOV of a camera), but a person's actual FOV is 120....so I'm just curious what a good value is.

I'm currently trying to get a sense of if a room is too small to stand in/and walk around or not, thanks!
[Mar 17, 2017, 8:21:15 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
hansmex
Advanced Member

Netherlands
Re: Realistic Field of View settings for a 3D Walkthrough

I usually use something between 75 and 90 degrees. 120 deg looks like a fisheye lens. You have to experiment what suits you best.

H
----------------------------------------
Hans

new website - under constuction
hansdirkse.info
[Mar 18, 2017, 5:29:22 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Jonnie63

Re: Realistic Field of View settings for a 3D Walkthrough

This is my understanding of it.

First the default as you state is 63 degrees

Secondly the average person has a horizontal field of view including peripheral of 180 degrees so a factor of 3.

Peripheral vision is not terribly important for detail but it will affect perception a great deal - does the scene feel claustrophobic,
does it feel like you are looking out of a smallish window rather than seeing the "whole thing".