Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 10
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 8094 times and has 9 replies Next Thread
UKenGB

UK
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Heights and elevations

I'm very new to SH3D and trying to get my head around the various heights, levels and elevations and how they add up. Is there a simple diagram that shows how they all 'stack up'?

So, what is the thickness of the floor? Does the elevation of a level start at the upper surface of a floor, or does the floor 'fill up' the level from its base elevation?

Are walls drawn from the elevation of their level, or on top of the floor?

What about ceilings? Do they have any thickness?

E.g. I have an outside door in a wall. From where is its elevation calculated? From the bottom of that level, or from the floor above that?

That also leads on to doors and windows. When specifying the width, is that the width of the actual door/window, or the opening in the wall?

I cannot find any clear documentation about these issues so would really appreciate some info from those more experience.
[Jul 22, 2016, 2:05:15 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
HawkDawg
Advanced Member

USA
Re: Heights and elevations

So, what is the thickness of the floor? Does the elevation of a level start at the upper surface of a floor, or does the floor 'fill up' the level from its base elevation?

Floors are added to the height setting of the level. In other words, if you set the height of the level at 8' and the floor thickness at 4" , the total height of the level is 8'4", with the 4" at sub-level.

Walls are built on top of the floor.

Ceilings are one sided so there is no thickness to them. Just a one sided poly.