Features

Download

Online

Gallery

Blog

  Index  | Recent Threads  | List Attachments  | Help  | Search
 Welcome Guest  |  Register  |  Login
Login Name  Password
 

Sweet Home 3D Forum



No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 7
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 15678 times and has 6 replies Next Thread
Jerry2012
Newbie




Joined: Oct 12, 2012
Post Count: 14
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Creating stairs

Hi everybody,

I have been looking around for a while, but I did not get the point up to now.
Probably it is so easy, that no one wrote about it - but sorry I didn't get it...

I would like to create stairs between two floor levels, baselevel and basement.
How to remove the floor in the baselevel and the ceiling in the basement-level, so that in 3D-view, one is able to look up the stairs into the other floor level?

Best regards,

Jerry
[Nov 11, 2012 12:27:10 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert
Member's Avatar

France
Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Post Count: 5837
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Creating stairs

Sweet Home 3D computes itself the hole in the ceiling and in the upper floor made by stairs provided with the software (see this example explained in this thread), or stairs imported in the software with a selected Staircase option. If the default computed hole doesn't satisfy you, you can create rooms that will circumvent the stairs, then set the visibility of the floor and ceiling of these rooms similar to this simple example showing how to create a mezzanine.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer
[Nov 11, 2012 2:48:29 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest    http://www.eteks.com [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Jerry2012
Newbie




Joined: Oct 12, 2012
Post Count: 14
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Creating stairs

Thanks for the quick answer!
Did I miss something or can the above thread be found somewhere in the manual?

best regards, Jerry
[Nov 11, 2012 4:02:59 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert
Member's Avatar

France
Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Post Count: 5837
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Creating stairs

There are comments about stairs in the help (here and also here) which contains more information than the user's guide, even if you can find additional information in the forum.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer
[Nov 11, 2012 9:11:44 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest    http://www.eteks.com [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
BadgerBerling
Newbie



USA
Joined: Oct 9, 2017
Post Count: 1
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Creating stairs

I'm happy to use the provided staircases, but they all are up stairs. How to I turn one into a down staircase?
[Oct 13, 2017 3:23:49 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
jgoulet
Newbie



USA
Joined: Nov 25, 2017
Post Count: 1
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Creating stairs

I think the trick is to start on the floor below.

I have tried to establish the staircase at -11' below, but sh3d does not allow negative numbers.

I am rebuilding my models accordingly.

Anyone with another answer, please chime in.

jg
[Nov 25, 2017 7:56:54 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
bdfd
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

FRANCE
Joined: Mar 29, 2014
Post Count: 1469
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Creating stairs

No, it's the onely solution.

It's the same thing to add a swimming-pool, you must add a lower level.
----------------------------------------
with W10 64b 1709 (16.299.19) / Core i7-4790 - RAM 16 MB / GeForce GTX770 2 Go Full HD
sh3d 5.6 with java 1.8.0_144 & java3D 1.6.0
[Nov 26, 2017 6:46:03 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Show Printable Version of Thread  Post new Thread

    Get Sweet Home 3D at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads
   
© Copyright 2006-2017 eTeks - All rights reserved