Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 77
Posts: 77   Pages: 8   [ Previous Page | 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 | Next Page ]
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 205585 times and has 76 replies Next Thread
Puybaret
Expert

France
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Simulate sun position and lights/shadows

You do realise as a photographer I'm now going to ask you for the ability to control the depth of field by selecting an aperture setting from a drop down box (f/1.0 - to f/22) and also the ability to choose the point of focus
As an amateur photographer myself, I would be tempted to add these settings myself too. But as Sweet Home 3D developer, I prefer to keep it simple and propose more depth of field choices to advanced users.
The idea I have in mind now, is to propose maybe 6 different "depth of fields" in the Lens combo box:
- Short depth of field / Focus 1m,
- Short depth of field / Focus 2.5m,
- Short depth of field / Focus Infinity,
- Great depth of field / Focus 1m,
- Great depth of field / Focus 2.5m,
- Great depth of field / Focus Infinity.
What do you think of this idea?

Are the new larger size lights available to download or does the new plug-in interpret the 3 lights as a larger by default?
The new plug-in interprets all light sources as twice larger.

If you want to create soft shadows maybe you could use reflected lights close to a shiny surface or an umbrella as a real photographer would do. wink
In case you need it I created the umbrella 3d model you can import.
----------------------------------------
Attachment umbrella.zip (9407 bytes) (Download count: 2595) (Shiny umbrella 3D model.)

Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer
[May 10, 2010, 9:09:17 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
db4tech
Advanced Member

UK

Hi,