Features

Download

Online

Gallery

Blog

  Index  | Recent Threads  | List Attachments  | Help  | Search
 Welcome Guest  |  Register  |  Login
Login Name  Password
 

Sweet Home 3D Forum



No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 26
Posts: 26   Pages: 3   [ Previous Page | 1 2 3 ]
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 16151 times and has 25 replies Next Thread
Puybaret
Expert
Member's Avatar

France
Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Post Count: 5837
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Imperfect rendering

I understand better Hans' problem now. In his mind, quality scale starts at 0 !!! biggrin
db4tech is right, its because you have many trees with many triangles to display. Fortunately, this doesn't seem to bother OpenGL too much, but Sweet Home 3D is generally unable to compute the shadow where there are too many trees. I didn't find any algorithm who could help me improve this yet. sad
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer
[Jun 23, 2010 6:56:09 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest    http://www.eteks.com [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
hansmex
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Netherlands
Joined: Sep 26, 2009
Post Count: 3063
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Imperfect rendering

Emmanuel:

It's not so much in my mind... but the slider from Create photo goes from left=0 to right=3 :-)

I just checked and I notice there's a difference between Ubuntu and Windows that causes the confusion. Under Ubuntu the slider has numbers 0-1-2-3 above it, under Windows Vista these are absent, so I can understand that Windows users would rather naturally think of Q1-Q4, instead of Q0-Q3. Also the Create and Close buttons are reversed between these two OS's. Maybe a future version could make this the same for both OS's?

I wouldn't bother too much with Q1 (or Q2 if Windows), because I hardly ever use it. It's either Q0, or else Q2 or Q3. And since the Advanced Photo renders are available, I don't use the standard rendering very often.

Update
I deleted all the trees from the model, and it rendered without problem, so Emmanuel was right when he pointed at the trees. One "Lombardy Poplar" also renders, but more trees cause problems.

Hans
----------------------------------------
[Edit 1 times, last edit by hansmex at Jun 23, 2010 10:34:57 AM]
[Jun 23, 2010 7:27:34 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
db4tech
Advanced Member



UK
Joined: May 3, 2010
Post Count: 223
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Imperfect rendering

Emmanuel was right when he pointed at the trees. One "Lombardy Poplar" also renders, but more trees cause problems.

Hans
What no mention of db5tech and the trees? sad I'm just kidding! I don't mind really. biggrin

db4.5tech
[Jun 23, 2010 2:22:09 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
hansmex
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Netherlands
Joined: Sep 26, 2009
Post Count: 3063
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Imperfect rendering

db6tech:

That post was on the previous page. My apologies for not lauding your considerable talents!

Hans
[Jun 23, 2010 4:03:58 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
db4tech
Advanced Member



UK
Joined: May 3, 2010
Post Count: 223
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Imperfect rendering

Thanks Hans biggrin
________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Home 3D is generally unable to compute the shadow where there are too many trees. I didn't find any algorithm who could help me improve this yet. sad
Emmanuel, rather than compute the triangles for the simple, second setting, built in render, why not just ignore the triangles whenever a tree is identified in a scene, instead, the trees X & Y size can be used to scale a simple rough edge png shape (like the example (complete with alpha channel) png below) to provide a simple shadow.



db4tech
[Jun 23, 2010 6:17:57 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert
Member's Avatar

France
Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Post Count: 5837
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Imperfect rendering

I add this idea but I felt that combining the shadows of two trees close to each other (or other objects) would be make a too dark shadow at their intersection.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer
[Jun 27, 2010 11:11:32 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest    http://www.eteks.com [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Posts: 26   Pages: 3   [ Previous Page | 1 2 3 ]
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Show Printable Version of Thread  Post new Thread

    Get Sweet Home 3D at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads
   
© Copyright 2006-2017 eTeks - All rights reserved