Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 12
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 3841 times and has 11 replies Next Thread
Keet
Advanced Member

Netherlands
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Sketch-A-Graph type of hinge deformation

I'm sure I'm going to give Emmanuel a head ache with this one...

Imagine a ladder where each step is connected to the sides with hinges. This means that if you lift one side all steps go along and if you lift far enough the steps will be almost vertical and the side almost touching.

This is a real world, existing product:

And of course I'm trying to create an object like this. I tried just about everything I could think of but I can't get it to work, not even close. I studied the MultipleAxisTest example and reviewed the flexiblehose. I tried combining the correct parts to the double hinges. Using the "_and_" between doubles. In most cases Sweethome3d can't even import the object and when it does it sometimes shows an incomplete "modify openings" dialog. I can't even get it to work with a single step between the two sides.

Am I doing something wrong or is this just not possible?

Keet
[Aug 9, 2022, 3:29:40 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Daniels118
Advanced Member

Italy
Re: Sketch-A-Graph type of hinge deformation

I don't think the new feature is suitable for this purpose for two reasons:
1) As far as I understand it allows to have a hierarchy of nodes, i.e. a tree, where each node can have one or more children, but only a single parent. In your case, if you start from the fixed side, each step is a child (and it's ok), but then the moving side should have each step as a parent, which isn't feasible.