Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 2
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 3405 times and has 1 reply Next Thread
whengreg

Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
First-time user feedback

Background: I'm an amateur home designer, as in I've designed exactly one home, decades ago, and I'm interested in having access to similar software again. The first home was designed with 3D Home Architect, which technically runs in Windows 10, but it's from 1997, and has some serious weaknesses. So, I'm trying out Sweet Home 3D. (Version 6.6a.) I know that first-time feedback is useful, so I'm going to be noting features I would like to see. Some of these features might already exist. If so, it probably means I couldn't figure out where they were, which is a different issue, but still an issue.

In general, I like the program; the learning curve wasn't too bad, and I think I'll be able to do everything I want with it.

Wall T-intersections: If a wall meets another in the middle, and not at an end, I can't join them. Part of my design process is to slap down a bunch of walls based on a napkin-quality sketch, then resize things as needed. (Oh, this corridor is too narrow; I'll just pull this wall out a couple inches.) When I do that, I expect any attached walls to stay attached, but they don't.

Doors, windows, and room definitions also feel like they should stay attached to a wall when I move it, but they don't.