Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 14
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 7366 times and has 13 replies Next Thread
NotAnArchitect

US
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
confused Roof Building for 2020 SH3D v6.3.1

Hello,

I am new to modeling and currently planning a renovation for my house. I wanted to build a cool 3d model based on my plans to share with people but feel I only got half my moneys worth.

The main issue is roof building. You basically only have half a program here because in order to create a roof, based on the 3 year old forum posts, I have to use plugins that will not work with Catalina to create models, so no luck there. And, I could use Blender to create models but that would require learning an entire new app that I will more than likely never use again.

I have a very complex roof so a simple wall split will not work. And, there is no tutorial for this process since 2013 which involves going into the Java plugins that again, do not run on Catalina. Because there is no set way to create roof in the app, I would think a video tutorial would be your best bet, but also that is from 2012. I found a variety of posts about this but none of them say the same thing and they bounce from idea to idea with replies covering 2012-2017, and no final result on which one worked best. Hence, the tutorial idea for the most current version, I fond a PDF tutorial from 2012.

Second, the video creating is more than a slow process and the Yada plugin also, will not work with Catalina. I am running Sweet Home on a Mac Pro 2013, video card would not be a factor here.