Print at May 16, 2022, 5:49:58 AM
Posted by Puybaret at Jan 25, 2018, 10:59:00 PM
Sweet Home 3D 5.7
For your information, I released Sweet Home 3D 5.7 today.
It's a maintenance release that fixes some bugs listed here and brings a small additional feature that allows to display a preview of images in file choosers.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by Xiste at Jan 30, 2018, 10:47:37 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
In the Q&A:
@
With the free version under Mac OS X, , click on the application icon of Sweet Home 3D while maintaining the ctrl key pressed to display its contextual menu, choose Show Package Contents item, open the Contents folder, edit the Info.plist file by dragging its icon on TextEdit application and update the maximum memory in the text <string>-Xmx1024m</string>, writing for example <string>-Xmx2g</string> for 2 GB instead of 1024 MB. Finally, save the file and relaunch Sweet Home 3D.


It no longer works, as the Info-plist file in version 5.7 is locked by default.
Since there most probably no lomger exists any Mac with less than 8G memory, why not set the default memory to 6G or 8G? It will save Mac-users a lot of hassle.


Xi

Posted by Puybaret at Jan 30, 2018, 11:21:49 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
Since there most probably no lomger exists any Mac with less than 8G memory [...]
I wish things could be so easy, but I'm sure that there are still many Mac OS X users running computers with less RAM than that, or even with a 32 bit processor, the main reason why this max memory value will remain at 1 GB for a few more releases.

If Info.plist is protected, you may run a command like:
sudo nano /Applications/Sweet\ Home\ 3D.app/Contents/Info.plist
in a Terminal window to edit it. I updated the FAQ accordingly.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by Xiste at Jan 30, 2018, 12:24:11 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
f Info.plist is protected, you may run a command like: -sudo nano /Applications/Sweet\ Home\ 3D.app/Contents/Info.plist


Result:
-bash: -sudo: command not found


As an experiment I opened version 5.6 (8G) on an antique Powerbook, and it runs perfectly. So it doesn't seem to matter wheter the memory is set to 1024m or 8G.


Xi

Posted by Puybaret at Jan 30, 2018, 12:42:34 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
Sorry, there was a useless hyphen in front of sudo.

As an experiment I opened version 5.6 (8G) on an antique Powerbook, and it runs perfectly. So it doesn't seem to matter wheter the memory is set to 1024m or 8G.
The -Xmx flag sets the max memory usable by Sweet Home 3D, not the minimum or the value at start. It will run perfectly as long as you use less than 1 GB or so, if the computer runs under a 32 bit system. If it runs under a 64 bit system with little RAM, it will probably start to swap once the RAM is full.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by Darshiit at Jan 30, 2018, 3:24:26 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
Thanks Puybaret :)

Posted by serinter at Feb 17, 2018, 7:53:59 PM
confused   Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
When I updated to the new version yesterday, (5.7.) I could not save any files, and also not open any file!
When i make a simple project, go to save, the window open to save, but nothing happens ..
Any idea?

Posted by Puybaret at Feb 17, 2018, 9:45:43 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
Do you use the installer version or the Java Web Start version? Under which system?
What do you mean by "nothing happens": does the program seem to hang, or does an error message appear?
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by Ceciliabr at Feb 18, 2018, 11:02:38 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
If Info.plist is protected, you may run a command like:
sudo nano /Applications/Sweet\ Home\ 3D.app/Contents/Info.plist
in a Terminal window to edit it. I updated the FAQ accordingly.


Have you actually tried this on a Mac running High Sierra?

I have now tried everything, and there is no way I can edit the info.plist without getting a message that the program is damaged and should be thrashed.

This is not a great problem for the moment, since there seems to be just minor changes in this upgrade, but it will probably be more frustrating when a major upgrade with new features is released.


@Xiste
Did you solve this? In that case, please tell me how.


cec

Posted by Puybaret at Feb 19, 2018, 8:51:44 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
I tried again and beside the more difficult handling of nano vs TextEdit, it worked correctly.
What -Xmx text did you write between <string> and </string> ?
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by Ceciliabr at Feb 19, 2018, 3:40:21 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
<string>-Xmx8g</string>

Posted by serinter at Feb 19, 2018, 5:48:22 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
Java Web Start works great !
the problem I mean, is in The installer version! Windows 8.1
When I mean "nothing happens", is because, i go to "save" window, write the name, and click in SAVE, the "save window" close, but the file didnt save,!

Posted by serinter at Feb 19, 2018, 5:51:20 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
How can I insert older library to the Java Web version ?
Because this version works normal for me ! but with limited library

Posted by Xiste at Feb 19, 2018, 7:32:40 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
@Xiste
Did you solve this? In that case, please tell me how.
Sorry.
I got the same error as you. But, as you say, this version is unimportant, so I didn't put a lot of effort into fixing it.

x

Posted by live at Feb 24, 2018, 11:24:16 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
OS win10 64bits
After 5.4, every version incl 5.7 on launch:
"Sweet Home 3D doit quitter maintenant à cause d'une erreur fatale dans son système de rendu 3D. Mettez à jour les drivers DirectX/OpenGL de la carte video de votre ordinateur"

Posted by Puybaret at Feb 24, 2018, 11:49:37 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
Live, try the suggestion about dxwebsetup.exe in this subject,
and if it doesn't work, then try the parameters /j3d.version=1.5.2 /os.arch=x86 added to the installer and described here.

Xiste, Ceciliabr, maybe High Sierra does not accept to change Info.plist anymore. Strange that it worked on my side...
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by Ceciliabr at Feb 25, 2018, 2:16:26 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
Xiste, Ceciliabr, maybe High Sierra does not accept to change Info.plist anymore. Strange that it worked on my side...
Yes, that is indeed very strange. I have tried both ways of editing the info.plist on several machines, and I get the same error.
This obviously has nothing to do with OSX, since I still have no problems editing the info.plist in v 5.0 without getting any error message.
Maybe some security measures have been included in the newer versions of SH3D, something that's preventing any attempt to alter the original?


cec

Posted by Puybaret at Apr 3, 2018, 1:01:56 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
I found how to reproduce your issue: I downloaded Sweet Home 3D DMG, copied the application on my hard disk, changed the Info.plist file then launched the program. But if you launch the program at least once before updating the Info.plist file, the error won't happen.
Hope this will work for you smile
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by Xiste at Apr 12, 2018, 5:49:45 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 5.7
GREAT!
Thank you!

Xiste