Print at Apr 14, 2021, 11:22:56 PM View all posts in this thread on one page
Posted by Indigo30 at Mar 5, 2017, 2:01:03 PM
Help! I raised the elevation of my house but can't raise the walls.
I realize now that I messed up by starting my house design at elevation zero, when I really needed the garage to be at level 0 and the house raised up a few steps.

First I tried setting the elevation of the garage walls at -30" but that didn't work.

Then I grouped everything except the garage, and changed the elevation to 30". Great! That worked, except the walls stayed on the ground and I haven't been able to find any way to raise them.

Can anyone give me some advice? Sweet Home 3D is such a wonderful program, and I have learned a lot, but unfortunately I started doing a plan without reading tutorials first.


Posted by bdfd at Mar 5, 2017, 6:10:01 PM
Re: Help! I raised the elevation of my house but can't raise the walls.
Simply add a new level with a height = 0.30 cm and to update
the existing level with a height + 0.30 cm...

smile
----------------------------------------
SH3D 6.5 and nothing else - W10 64b
Asus TUF Z390 , Intel Core i9-9900KF (4.0 GHz) , Chipset Z390 Exp, RAM 32 Go DDR4 3 Ghz, SSD M.2 512 Go + HDD 3 To,
MSI GeForce RTX 2080 8Go

Posted by Indigo30 at Mar 5, 2017, 7:56:40 PM
Re: Help! I raised the elevation of my house but can't raise the walls.
Thanks much for the quick response. I don't understand why I needed to create a new level. But I did change the base elevation for my first floor to 30" and it did the trick, except all of my furniture, doors, windows, everything is elevated above the floor level.

I tried grouping everything and changing the elevation to 0 but it is still all elevated. I can do one piece at a time, or I guess group a few things to change them... unless you know of an easier way.

Another question... is there a way to move things from one level to another? I made the mistake of adding roofs and dormers and porches, etc. to the 1st floor level at higher elevations instead of using different levels. Also have some furniture on the 1st floor that needs to be on the 2nd floor.

Thanks, Marsha


Posted by VeroniQ at Mar 5, 2017, 8:43:34 PM
Re: Help! I raised the elevation of my house but can't raise the walls.
Indigo30, maybe Emmanuel's answer in this thread can help you.

Posted by Indigo30 at Mar 6, 2017, 2:11:20 PM
Re: Help! I raised the elevation of my house but can't raise the walls.
smile Thanks, VeroniQ. That was helpful, and it led me to the User Guide where I saw that I can copy and paste between levels. I hope other new users will plan ahead and create levels starting with the actual ground level instead of the main floor, if the main floor is a few steps up. I realized too late that the zero elevation level is what shows the ground in 3D view. Obviously, I have a lot to learn, but am in a hurry to get basic plans and elevations done for permitting.