Print at May 16, 2022, 2:07:46 PM
Posted by Puybaret at Aug 27, 2014, 11:57:20 PM
Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Hi,

Here's a beta version of Sweet Home 3D 4.5.

Until now, this new version contains only some small improvements and bug fixes:
- Spanish, Portuguese Brazilian and Japanese help translations were updated. Many thanks to Carlos Segura and Chiyoko Miklasevich for their contributions to these translations.
- I fixed a bug that could rarely interpret sh3d files with correct content as damaged files
- I removed useless confirmation when user confirms the deletion of no point of view
- Loader3DS library was replaced by the new class Max3DSLoader I programed (thanks to lib3ds authors for the inspiration, and many thanks to Loader3DS author that was so helpful during the past years). From my tests, this new class is up to twice faster, interprets better colors in 3DS files and is able to ignore the case of texture file names bound to a 3DS file. I tested this new 3DS loader against many 3DS files (mostly the ones coming from Archibit Generation), but miserably, it's still not able to interpret correctly 3DS files that contain scattered shapes like many ones available at Model3D.biz (like this model or this one). I think in many cases, these files are simply buggy and I fear you can't hope anything better.
Nevertheless, I would be pleased to read your feedback about your own tests trying to import 3DS files in this new version. If you encounter some 3DS files that used to work correctly with previous versions of Sweet Home 3D, but that are refused or buggy with this new version, please give the URL where it can be downloaded or simply send them to me.
Many thanks for your help. smile

[Notes from developer: Sweet Home 3D 4.5 was released on October 22, 2014]
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by Puybaret at Aug 28, 2014, 12:35:13 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Here's already the Beta 2 that fixes an issue that could happen in Furniture materials dialog box, when colors list read by the new 3DS loader is different from the list read by previous loader.
By the way, changing loader implies in many cases that the customization made on the materials of furniture read from 3DS models will be lost. Hope you won't mind too much about this incompatibility with previous versions of Sweet Home 3D. sad
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by hansmex at Aug 28, 2014, 3:51:55 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Emmanuel,

Thank you once again for the update!!

On this page try the model called Trees 9.
When imported with v4.4 the model is OK and shows 9 trees.
When imported with v4.5b the 9 models are all centered around the same X,Y coordinate.

This model of an old house also gives problems, even though the textures are included in the file. In this case not only the 3ds file, also the OBJ file is i ncorrect. Maybe the textures are used in a way SH3D doesn't support?

This simple chair suffers the "old" displacement problem in both v4.4 and v4.5b. Although there are no textures, they are defined and can be changed using Modify Materials.

This modern closet doesn't import in v4.5b, but it does import in v4.4, although without textures or texture groups. The OBJ model does import correctly. Maybe this model was "translated" through an incorrect converter?
Interestingly... the SH3D file is also included. Maybe you can find out who made the model and ask the designer how he/she converted the model?

Will look for more....

Hans
----------------------------------------
Dual boot - AMD FX6300 6-core, 16GB ram
Windows 10 Pro, SH3D 6.2 with 8 GB memory allowance
Ubuntu 18.04, SH3D 6.2 with 2 GB memory allowance

Posted by Puybaret at Aug 28, 2014, 7:35:59 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Thanks Hans for your detailed feedback. I updated the Beta version to improve 3DS loading.

I didn't fix the issue with the Tree 9 model yet. I wonder from which part comes the coordinates that place the trees… Blender itself keeps all the trees centered at the same place. Are there any other users who could try to import that file and see how the tree models it contains are located?

The textures of the old house are not rendered because they use the TIF format that Sweet Home 3D / Java doesn't support at this moment. As I saw that some other recent models use this file format too, I wonder if it could worth to add support for it. Just don't want to make the program grow too much and add a dependency whereas I just remove the one to Loader3DS!

I think the issue in the simple chair is typically one that comes from the file itself.

The issue in the modern closet is fixed in the Beta 3, but it still doesn't contain colors…

Don't hesitate to post other tests smile
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by hansmex at Aug 28, 2014, 7:40:19 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Emmanuel,

I had a brainwave...
The human models of Reallusion use the same kind of textures as the old house model. They wrap around the model in a specific way. Maybe there is a workaround possible?

H
----------------------------------------
Dual boot - AMD FX6300 6-core, 16GB ram
Windows 10 Pro, SH3D 6.2 with 8 GB memory allowance
Ubuntu 18.04, SH3D 6.2 with 2 GB memory allowance

Posted by Puybaret at Aug 28, 2014, 8:40:09 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
The trick is to save each TIFF file it uses as JPEG (or PNG) files keeping the original name even if its suffix is tif. Just need a little patience:


----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by sree.arun.kr at Aug 29, 2014, 2:31:07 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
I am vary glad to see that SH3D going to release v4.5. peace whistling
On this page try the model called Trees 9. When imported with v4.4 the model is OK and shows 9 trees. When imported with v4.5b the 9 models are all centered around the same X,Y coordinate.
Hans is right. When importing some grouped objects it become centered. I think already reported this issue. It happens both obj and 3ds format. Suppose if two objects have same pivot location like object_2 have pivot located at 0,0,0(x,y,z) and object_6, pivot located at 0,0,0(x,y,z) but both have different positions in view port/drawing then it imported to SH3D it become overlapped.
See the example

but it needs to be arranged in this way.

In 3dsMax, for grouped objects when it is exported this bug does not affected while re importing and the groups become ungroupes automatically.

In my opinion SH3D require some more script that locate the object based on pivot and this pivot arranged based on grid positions.
Hope I explained it properly. If you don't get what I mean let me know. I am ready to explained it more.
This modern closet doesn't import in v4.5b, but it does import in v4.4, although without textures or texture groups. The OBJ model does import.......
Importing 3ds file is success but texture changed.(Obj shows no problem.)
[In my experiences 3DSMax sometimes 3ds format does not working properly with smooth effect(not turbosmooth like add vertex), materials especially MentalRay and Vray, instace... So I prefer the mtl editable obj. If you really like to add supporting new format then why don't animation supported FBX. Did you ever try open .max file using 7zip?. silly ]
The trick is to save each TIFF file it uses as JPEG (or PNG) files keeping the original name even if its suffix is tif. Just need a little patience:
If jpg can import as tif then why HDRI can't import. Waiting for HDRI support as Modify 3d view -> Sky(Texture). thinking
I am very much interested to know current progress of yafaray code conversion. cowboy
----------------------------------------


Posted by Puybaret at Aug 31, 2014, 7:11:04 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
sree.arun.kr, I don't want to add support for a new format, I want to replace the existing library that loads 3DS files by one I programmed myself, so it's easier to maintain. I'll look at the pivot feature and hopefully will fix the new 3DS loader.

If jpg can import as tif then why HDRI can't import.
You misunderstood my trick: Sweet Home 3D doesn't support TIFF, it's just able to read any file containing some data at JPEG format, even if its extension is .tif or anything different from .jpg or .jpeg.

I am very much interested to know current progress of yafaray code conversion.
Nothing.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by Puybaret at Sep 12, 2014, 4:35:40 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
It was tough but I think I was able to resolve remaining issues in 3DS support. At least, Sweet Home 3D should be able to import models as well as OBJ models converted with FBX Converter.
Please, test it in the last Beta version.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by sree.arun.kr at Sep 12, 2014, 8:22:28 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Yes.The pivot point issue fixed.Thanks for the update. smile
----------------------------------------


Posted by hansmex at Sep 13, 2014, 9:53:40 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Emmanuel,

The tree model now imports correctly.
The chair model also imports correctly.

The old house model cannot be imported correctly, despite using the trick you described:
- use original 3ds file, convert images to jpg, delete original tif, then rename jpg to tif.
- I also tried to change the 3ds file: using a text editor I changed all references of tif to jpg, then I changed images to jpg. No success.

This tractor also imports correctly.

This tarantula is not recognizes as a valid 3ds file.

This excavator does not import correctly. There are still some shifted parts. Colours are missing, but materials are defined.

Conclusion: It's getting better, but not yet perfect :-)
Thank you for your time and effort.

Hans
----------------------------------------
Dual boot - AMD FX6300 6-core, 16GB ram
Windows 10 Pro, SH3D 6.2 with 8 GB memory allowance
Ubuntu 18.04, SH3D 6.2 with 2 GB memory allowance

Posted by Puybaret at Sep 13, 2014, 2:43:10 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Thanks AruN and Hans for your tests smile

The old house model cannot be imported correctly, despite using the trick you described:
- use original 3ds file, convert images to jpg, delete original tif, then rename jpg to tif.
- I also tried to change the 3ds file: using a text editor I changed all references of tif to jpg, then I changed images to jpg. No success.
I wouldn't try to edit a 3DS file with a text editor, because it contains various data used to validate file content length. But no problem to view its content to find out the images files it references.
Did you move the images files out of the tex subfolder?

The tarantula can't be imported because the 3DS files doesn't contain any 3D faces (only two lights).

The excavator data is probably incorrect since Autodesk's FBX Converter reports the same issues (like the two models of Model3D.biz I spoke about in the first message of this thread).
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by hansmex at Sep 13, 2014, 3:37:25 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Emmanuel,

Regarding the old house model:
I tried to change the 3DS file using first gedit, then notepad (Remember, I'm using Ubuntu). In both cases I think the problem is that all kinds of non-printing characters aren't recognized by the text editor, and are changed to incorrect values. The result is that the modified file is useless.

And no, I didn't change the directory of the tif/jpg files.

H
----------------------------------------
Dual boot - AMD FX6300 6-core, 16GB ram
Windows 10 Pro, SH3D 6.2 with 8 GB memory allowance
Ubuntu 18.04, SH3D 6.2 with 2 GB memory allowance

Posted by YGYL at Sep 14, 2014, 2:34:30 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Can you add a feature?
free to rotate objects. It is very important. Very useful. Otherwise, we can only continue to export the model, and then import the model to rotate it.

Posted by Puybaret at Sep 14, 2014, 5:43:09 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Sorry YGYL, if it happens, there are very very little chances that it will be in the next version.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by sree.arun.kr at Sep 14, 2014, 8:34:59 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Hello Emmanuel sir,
I have little idea that if you are able to convert .3ds to obj and vice versa then using .3ds format is used when compress and save if choose it will compress the file more.
wish to see the features like,
add sub category in furniture library, category in texture library, profile switching, built-in hdr files for rendering and more.
Thanks, and welcome all new updates. peace
----------------------------------------


Posted by YGYL at Sep 15, 2014, 6:31:47 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Thank you.
If you can have 3D text symbols function even better
Unicode has too much text(65000), impossible all converted into 3D models(OBJ 3DS)

Posted by YGYL at Sep 15, 2014, 7:15:21 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Also, I think we can add a function, after the texture color processing (changing the texture color)
By adjusting the tone parameters, so that a texture into multiple textures
can save a lot of space. Increased freedom
☆> > > > >

Posted by YGYL at Sep 15, 2014, 7:45:08 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
changing the texture color
☆> > > > >
[img]http://s25.postimg.org/e3kwbg5d7/44544.jpg[/img]

Posted by YGYL at Sep 15, 2014, 7:46:42 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5


Posted by Puybaret at Sep 15, 2014, 8:25:07 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
YGYL, this thread is dedicated to Sweet Home 3D 4.5 tests.
If you want to submit features requests, please create tickets at http://sourceforge.net/p/sweethome3d/feature-requests/ after ensuring that nobody submitted similar requests.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by Puybaret at Sep 15, 2014, 2:57:42 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Today, the Beta 6 brings better computation of smooth normals in 3DS files. I guess the new 3DS loader should work correctly now. smile
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by sree.arun.kr at Sep 16, 2014, 6:54:07 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Hello Emmanuel Sir,
If you are looking for a crashed 3ds file here is the one.
This file is exported from sh3d and then it is converted to 3ds using meshlab.
Now this 3ds is failed to import in SH3D v4.3, v4.4, v4.5b6.
[PS: updated link].
----------------------------------------


Posted by Puybaret at Sep 16, 2014, 8:44:40 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
It would be nice to report to meshlab that the converted 3DS file is buggy (hope this is not the case for every 3DS file!). Around the end of the file, after the first (and only one) chunk 0xB020, data becomes inconsistent. I could change the 3DS loader to accept the part of the file that is valid and ignore the buggy remaining part, but I prefer refuse files that are too much wrong.

Thanks for your test smile
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by Puybaret at Oct 9, 2014, 10:44:32 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
The Beta 9 brings an updated Russian help (many thanks to Кунаков Антон Юрьевич for his contribution) and fixes some small bugs. The main ones are:
- I ensured that the order of pieces is kept when grouped, thus chairs placed under a table are still under the table, once grouped)
- I found an other case where the points of an horizontal wall were incorrectly computed at the joint with another wall, and fixed it.
- I cleared the search filter in textures choice dialog box after a texture is imported to ensure it's always visible in the list.

I also increased the max count of stored points of view to 50, and restored the previous size of textures choice dialog box when the user resized it.

By the way, to ensure that the 3DS loader works as well as possible, could someone who owns a license of 3DS MAX try to import in this software this model and this one available at Model3D.biz, and confirm they don't look correct? If they look correct, this means that I could still improve the 3DS loader I programmed.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by sree.arun.kr at Oct 12, 2014, 2:21:40 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
It would be happy to see the new beta9 update. angel
The first 3ds file(bar chair) works fine.

Actually a circle wire and a leg of chair is in hidden mode in his work file but when he exported it, its also exported.So it comes visible in 3ds file.
In the second 3ds file is not looking same as 3dsMax and SH3D
When I import 3ds file it looks like this(below)


When I import the work file its also show me some texture missing.


If I ignore the texture missing then its look like this.

With the work file I understand the SH3D problem.
Briefly: The designer first created the left part of the sofa. Then he made a copy and moved it to right. Then he apply mirror modifier(an effect like smooth in 3dsmax) to it(see below).


This mirror is works in 3ds format when it import 3dsMax. But this mirror is not worked in SH3D.
I found an other case where the points of an horizontal wall were incorrectly computed at the joint with another wall, and fixed it.

I don't get your mind but there is a similar issue with walls. If I draw a wall like this


When I import it into 3dsMax then I want to manualy select all the straight walls(not curved) and apply its smooth value to zero.

In some cases its also not give the good result.Some odd triangle faces are black. To full fill it I need to change its face nomals to be inverted.
I hope you can fix it soon. peace
----------------------------------------


Posted by Puybaret at Oct 13, 2014, 9:05:00 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Thanks AruN for your tests.

I'm going to look for the information where the mirror modifier could be stored in the 3DS file.

About the wall issue you reported, do you mean that sometimes you have wrong normals on the wall directly after importing the OBJ file?
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by sree.arun.kr at Oct 13, 2014, 5:00:15 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
I mean the wall issue(normals/odd faces are black) is when it exported from SH3D to 3dsMax if the wall is in zigzag or it consist of curved wall/face.
I think its because the smooth modifier is applied to the whole object not only the curved face.
----------------------------------------


Posted by Puybaret at Oct 14, 2014, 3:00:43 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
The smooth parameter isn't used in exported OBJ files and all normals are exported.
Could you add at least a "s off" line in a OBJ file generated with Sweet Home 3D, to see how it works in 3DS MAX?
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by sree.arun.kr at Oct 15, 2014, 8:30:16 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Yes you are right. The smooth parameter does not have any role in SH3D's .Obj. I think may be this is because 3dsMax automatically set the flag while importing. Thank you for the information.smile
I send my work files to you.
----------------------------------------


Posted by Puybaret at Oct 23, 2014, 12:10:00 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Sweet Home 3D 4.5 was released tonight.
Unfortunately, I didn't find a way to correctly interpret mirror modifier in 3DS files yet, but I hope I'll be able to fix this in a future version.

Thanks to you all for your support smile
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by sjimran at Oct 23, 2014, 10:21:50 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Good News... biggrin

Posted by WriterBLAlley at Nov 1, 2014, 2:52:58 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
I updated to 4.5, and now my advanced renderer doesn't open. How do I get it back?

Posted by Puybaret at Nov 1, 2014, 5:42:37 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
The features of the advanced renderer are included in Sweet Home 3D since version 3.0.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by WriterBLAlley at Nov 2, 2014, 2:53:26 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
I tried it, and the old version is MUCH better. I had more control, and the images were more realistic. Now they still take hours to render, but are terrible.

Ignoring the artifacting, which I believe I've solved:

Old Renderer:

http://static.wixstatic.com/media/402253_fb35...1821050eedfb35537.png_650

New Renderer:

http://static.wixstatic.com/media/402253_d631...8a0360d7f5ccdba7f.png_650


Sorry, but the new one does NOT include the features of the advanced renderer. I'm going back to the old version.

Posted by Puybaret at Nov 2, 2014, 3:23:44 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
The second image looks like blurred. Wouldn't you have selected a Depth of field lens rather than the default one?

Sorry, but the new one does NOT include the features of the advanced renderer.
Note also that you can get more control on the renderer using special properties explained here with some tests here.

I'm going back to the old version.
It's up to you. But if you encounter a bug in an old version or miss a feature, please check whether it was fixed or added before reporting it.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by WriterBLAlley at Nov 2, 2014, 3:56:30 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
I selected the Depth Of Field setting.

The new problem is, when I went back to the old version (3.7) the advanced renderer no longer shows up, even though the files are intact. Either way, all of my work is lost, and I don't have another app that can render my models. (I've tried many, before you start suggesting.)

Posted by Puybaret at Nov 2, 2014, 4:10:40 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Comparing with the latest version 1.6 of the Advanced rendering plug-in, I really wonder what feature you miss. Please list them here, and I'll tell you how to do.

The new problem is, when I went back to the old version (3.7) the advanced renderer no longer shows up, even though the files are intact.
The last version that fully supported the advanced rendering was the version 2.6.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by WriterBLAlley at Nov 2, 2014, 4:18:01 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
I miss being able to render a clear image with realistic lights, no a fuzzy one with blown out lights. How do I get my old version back?

Posted by Puybaret at Nov 2, 2014, 4:42:09 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Use Default lens not Depth of field one, and learn how to set the light power in the new version. Did you prefer silk or glossy rendering?
With a little patience, I'm sure you can get even better result that with the plug-in.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by WriterBLAlley at Nov 2, 2014, 4:42:19 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
Just tell me how to get the old version that uses the advanced renderer. That's the one I was able to get good results with.

Posted by Puybaret at Nov 2, 2014, 4:44:11 PM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
As said before, use version Sweet Home 3D 2.6. Maybe it could work with more recent versions, but it will be up to you to try.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by Puybaret at Nov 3, 2014, 10:13:31 AM
Re: Sweet Home 3D 4.5
For your information, I just tried successfully the Advanced rendering plug-in 1.6 with Sweet Home 3D 3.7. Maybe you didn't increase the max memory used by the program?
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer