Print at Jan 26, 2022, 5:52:18 AM View all posts in this thread on one page
Posted by 411621 at Oct 16, 2021, 11:44:50 PM
Customizing permanent settings in preferences menu
I'm looking for a way to set my personal preferences.
How can I do that?

Examples:
Polylines start out with a thickness of 1.
I don't need that. I need to start out with a thickness of 0.125

Opening a new file there is always the compass there. I don't need that. If I needed I want to turn it on.

Creating new "rooms" there is always the square footage displayed. I don't need that.

There is more. What I need is that I can set the defaults so that the polylines start with a thickness of 0.125, opening new file has no compass and creating a new "room" no square footage is displayed unless requested it.

Posted by Puybaret at Oct 17, 2021, 2:39:47 PM
Re: Customizing permanent settings in preferences menu
Sorry, there’s no way to change the default values you requested without changing the program. So unless you’re a programmer, you’ll have to live with it.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by hansmex at Oct 17, 2021, 4:58:34 PM
Re: Customizing permanent settings in preferences menu
My solution: make an empty standard file that you open whenever starting a new drawing. Here you can set all your preferences.

H
----------------------------------------
Dual boot - AMD FX6300 6-core, 16GB ram
Windows 10 Pro, SH3D 6.2 with 8 GB memory allowance
Ubuntu 18.04, SH3D 6.2 with 2 GB memory allowance

Posted by 411621 at Jan 25, 2022, 2:34:40 AM
Re: Customizing permanent settings in preferences menu
Sorry, there’s no way to change the default values you requested without changing the program. So unless you’re a programmer, you’ll have to live with it.


Funny to read your reply.
I train people in Customer relations and services.
Where I to teach in the spirit of your reply I'd be out of business!

Posted by 411621 at Jan 25, 2022, 2:55:55 AM
Re: Customizing permanent settings in preferences menu
My solution: make an empty standard file that you open whenever starting a new drawing. Here you can set all your preferences.

H


Hi and thank you for your reply.
When I start SH3D it always opens with a certain "base template".
Applying your idea, where could I find that "master template" so I could modify it?

Posted by UbuntuBirdy at Jan 25, 2022, 6:16:39 AM
Re: Customizing permanent settings in preferences menu
Sorry, there’s no way to change the default values you requested without changing the program. So unless you’re a programmer, you’ll have to live with it.


Funny to read your reply.
I train people in Customer relations and services.
Where I to teach in the spirit of your reply I'd be out of business!


So, you are not allowed to tell people the truth? You have to lie to them? I would never do a job like yours!
----------------------------------------
Pascal

SH3D 6.6 / Ubuntu 20.04 (Mainline-Kernel) / Radeon RX580 / Ryzen 7 5800x

Posted by Puybaret at Jan 25, 2022, 9:09:26 AM
Re: Customizing permanent settings in preferences menu
I think 411621 was speaking about the end of my sentence "you’ll have to live with it", probably too offensive for some American people.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by UbuntuBirdy at Jan 25, 2022, 7:52:07 PM
Re: Customizing permanent settings in preferences menu
I think 411621 was speaking about the end of my sentence "you’ll have to live with it", probably too offensive for some American people.


It's just a clumsy attempt to make you feel bad and fix that "issue"...

...and that is unprofessional and I hope, she/he will not teach that to the people in her/his class...
----------------------------------------
Pascal

SH3D 6.6 / Ubuntu 20.04 (Mainline-Kernel) / Radeon RX580 / Ryzen 7 5800x